Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(1)Category: GeneralJanuary-11-2013 7:45 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Check it out: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/8414560/ :)

--------

Edit: More information from the developers is available here!
[Post edited one time, last edit by Lylirra at January-13-2013 12:54 AM PST (9 years ago)]
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(28)January-11-2013 8:15 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Posted by: Alloppy

Hey, why is your post being edited by Lylirra?


Profanity. =/
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(68)January-11-2013 8:51 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
No incremental timer is great, but an increase in base time?


http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6794832270?page=9#171 :)

(For those who don't want to click-through, the base time hasn't been increased. The "5 seconds" Wyatt noted includes 2 seconds for the "You have been killed!" window to appear + the 3-second wait to resurrect. This is how the timer works currently.)
[Post edited one time, last edit by Lylirra at January-14-2013 2:52 PM PST (9 years ago)]
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(348)January-12-2013 10:32 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Hey guys! Wyatt Cheng recently followed up on some player questions over on Reddit. The main thread can be found here, but I've highlighted his responses below (along with links to their original locations).

http://www.reddit.com/r/Diablo/comments/16f4bq/patch_107_preview_just_posted_930_cst/c7vw34v?context=3
Looks like they're doing EVERYTHING people suggested so far.
Give this game a years time and it will have become the game we would've liked to see on release.


Wyatt: Thanks! We've certainly all seen people leave the game and come back. One of the interesting things about being a non-subscription game is that this is okay - there are a lot of really fun games out there! Our job is to make sure that when you do come back, you are coming back to a fun experience. What I want to see is when people do fire up D3 again they think to themselves "Wow, this game is better than I remember" or "I really loved the game before but I [insert issue here] so I quit playing. But now I see they fixed my issue and I love playing again!". I love seeing comments like that on sites such as this one (/r/diablo) and definitely reaffirms the team's desire to continue working to make this game as good as we can :)

Thanks for stopping by but please don't let another 7 months go by without posting! You'll find the rabble rabble pitchforking can be kept to minimum with tiny replies like this. Keep up the good work.

Wyatt: This subreddit is a wonderful community where people talk about builds, publish research, advertise new videos, spread news or just share the latest "TIL". It's a fun, constructive, unique community. I think the communication and ideas shared between players can often be richer when the developers aren't overly involved.
That said - increased communication is a great idea, and it's something we're always thinking about ways to do better.


http://www.reddit.com/r/Diablo/comments/16f4bq/patch_107_preview_just_posted_930_cst/c7vw7gf?context=3
except monster density....I'm so sick of act 3.

Wyatt: Unfortunately increased monster density in Act 1 and 2 in Inferno difficulty did not make patch 1.0.7. It is absolutely something we would like to improve, and it is still on the list for the future. I spend most of personal play time in Act 3 as well: Keeps 1, Core, Tower, Bridge, Fields. It's a matter of degrees, it'll never all be balanced 100% equal in all zones everywhere you go - but they need to be comparable within a certain tolerance, and we're definitely outside that margin right now.


http://www.reddit.com/r/Diablo/comments/16f4bq/patch_107_preview_just_posted_930_cst/c7vw99p?context=3
"We're also increasing the base pickup radius by a small amount." Easily the best change.

Wyatt: Just to make sure we're setting expectations correctly, the radius increase is modest. As mentioned in the blog, for melee characters who are very particular about saving their health globes, we wanted to make sure we didn't increase the radius so much that melee characters picked up health globes unintentionally.
So, kinda imagine a health globe dropping a melee range, we increased pickup by LESS than that. I'd tell you the exact number but I don't remember it off the top of my head and it'll be in the patch notes anyways. The bump is small.


http://www.reddit.com/r/Diablo/comments/16f4bq/patch_107_preview_just_posted_930_cst/c7vweqf?context=3
I'm confused about the ruby. Did they change bonus from +damage to +IAS when applied to weapon. And what is this Marquise do?

Wyatt: Sorry for the confusion. The new Ruby gives flat damage increase, much like the existing rubies do. However, because of the way the math works out, the higher your attack speed, the more your character benefits from a flat damage increase.

For example, let's say Your attack speed is 1.1 If a Ruby adds 20 damage to your weapon, then it is adding 22 DPS to your weapon. However, if your attack speed is 2.4, then that same Ruby that adds 20 damage to your weapon is going to add 48 DPS to your weapon. Essentially, flat damage benefits higher attack speeds.

Our goal with the tuning on the new Ruby is that if you have high attack speed, and/or your skill build leans heavily on skills that don't crit (such as Hydra), then you may prefer the flat damage granted by the Ruby over the Critical Hit Damage provided by the Emerald. The exact tuning point has gone through some internal testing but we'll be monitoring things on PTR as well. I expect some clever theorycrafters will figure out some breakpoints for when to use one gem or another.


http://www.reddit.com/r/Diablo/comments/16f4bq/patch_107_preview_just_posted_930_cst/c7vwhdt?context=3
I'm so happy they didn't mention One With Everything.

Wyatt: One With Everything is not changing in 1.0.7. We still recognize it as an issue, but 1. We do not want to make any change that invalidates the existing gear people have acquired. 2. We have to weigh the cost of any change vs. the benefit of doing so. Does One With Everything feel mandatory to many monks? Yes (though not as much as it used to be). Is fixing it urgent? No.


http://www.reddit.com/r/Diablo/comments/16f4bq/patch_107_preview_just_posted_930_cst/c7vwlqv?context=3
I love the changes! Only thing...how should it be possible to get 5 stacks before you get to Rakanoth in Act 4?^

Wyatt: I did not mention it in the blog but Nephalem Valor should carry over from Act to Act.

The Patch Notes represent a collated list of the things that have changed in a patch. When choosing which changes to list in a Patch Preview, it's the design teams opportunity to provide some additional commentary, insight or explain the reasoning behind the changes.
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(365)January-13-2013 12:49 AM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
So I can't just duel a friend in act 3 while waiting for another friend to get back? are you serious!? I have to go to act 1 JUST for a duel...are you guys ignorant to what players really want? all I read there was a bunch of nonsense


We've actually discussed adding a dueling NPC to each Act hub to help address the concern you've brought up (though that may not make it to the PTR).
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(500)January-14-2013 3:47 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Posted by: Analbumcover

Do the Ubers count as "Bosses" in this respect? Will they be able to drop plans at the 50% rate as well?


Negative. Only the "normal" versions of the bosses listed have a chance to drop the recipes. The Infernal Machine bosses will not drop them.

(Tangentially related, but a good FYI: I've confirmed that the recipes can be sold to a vendor as well as dropped on the ground. They can also be sold on Auction House, since they're not BoA.)

Are the new BoA items going to be salvageable, unlike the BoA Hellfire Rings?

EDIT: I didn't make it clear enough, I meant are we going to be able to get back Demonic Essences when salvaging a piece of BoA gear, or is it going to salvage into Magic / Rare crafting materials just like the Hellfire Ring.


The new Rare crafted items currently aren't designed to salvage back into a Demonic Essence. Right now they're set to salvage into Rare crafting materials, just like other Rare items.

We're thinking about allowing the items to have a very small chance to salvage into a Demonic Essence, but that's definitely not a confirmed decision. It won't be something that's available on the first build of the PTR.
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(501)January-14-2013 3:51 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Oh, and because I've seen people asking: Hellfire Rings will salvage into Brimstones and some Tears in 1.0.7, same as other Legendary items (though I don't believe that change will be available in the first build of the PTR).

This wasn't mentioned in the preview, but is it a change we're planning for the next patch.
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(510)January-14-2013 4:26 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
and of corse we can swap in brimstones for demonic essences ? or are we stuck with big piles of worthless brimestones because of crazy high drop rates persisting from 105 ?


Don't believe that's planned, but one of the new crafted items (the amulet) will require Brimstones as a reagent.

We know that this likely won't resolve the Brimstone surplus completely, and we may end up adding Brimstones as a reagent for some of the other recipes and/or changing the current cost for the amulet. It's something we've discussed, and we're open to your thoughts on the matter.

Even so, the new Rare items already have a fairly high reagent cost, and we don't want to make crafting them too prohibitive, as that will mean we won't see much movement of commodities out of the economy. When it comes to item sinks, it's usually better to have a larger number of players crafting items with a slightly less expensive reagent cost than it is to have a very small number of players crafting items with a much more exorbitant cost.

Speaking of, I feel it's important to note that the crafting costs of items being introduced in 1.0.7 are subject to change, so please keep that in mind before liquidating certain assets (or, conversely, stocking up on others).
[Post edited one time, last edit by Lylirra at January-14-2013 5:51 PM PST (9 years ago)]
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(512)January-14-2013 4:30 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Posted by: skp

Also do the demonic essences only drop with 5 NV stacks, or do they drop independent of that? The lack of the statement about requiring 5 NV stacks in the preview (along with the subsequent inclusion of them for the recipes later on) suggests that they can drop even with 0 NV stacks.


Under the current design which is shipping with the PTR, Nephalem Valor will not be required in order for Demonic Essences to drop.

Posted by: BMatt

Lylirra, would you please comment on whether or not crafted items will receive new color lettering or not?


No plans that I've seen to change the color.

Before I pass on the feedback, though, are you referring to the color of the item dropped on the ground? The color that it appears in your inventory? Both?
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(520)January-14-2013 4:46 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Way to go.... that's the most retarded thing ever.

It wasn't planned, but you decided to give all those crybaby_brimstone_hoarders another shot @ fortune.


I think you may have misread. Swapping Brimstones for Demonic Essences wasn't/isn't planned. We did/do plan on having at least one of the Rare crafted items require a Brimstone to make.
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(545)January-14-2013 5:45 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Dear Lylirra, are you guys aware that blue posts have a huge influence on the economy of the game / do you guys follow the economy changes? This is what happened last time you posted that you guys are "exploring ways to improve the worth of Brimstones": prices increased 4-5 the amount within a day, lots of rich people in the game made profits of over 1 billion gold and everyone is still stockpiling them right now as we speak to earn more money when the patch hits.


Yes, we're definitely aware of that effect and do take it heavily into consideration whenever we post. At the same time, we also want to be as transparent as possible with players about the game and upcoming changes to it, so it's an incredible tightrope to walk. In some cases, we may choose not to post about a certain topic due to the potential impact it could have on the economy, or otherwise delay our response to help mitigate it. In others, we accept the risk, acknowledge your concern, and provide some insight -- even if it's vague -- about what we're doing to address the issue (this is what we chose to do with the earlier Brimstone post of mine you referenced).

For this particular situation, even if we didn't release the patch preview, and even if I didn't post about Brimstones today, as soon as the PTR hits and crafting recipe info goes public, the same thing you described would happen. By your logic, should we not have a PTR then, because players will respond a certain way on the Auction House? There are some situations where the long-term health of the game (or our long-term relationship with the community) need to take precedence.
[Post edited one time, last edit by Lylirra at January-15-2013 10:51 AM PST (9 years ago)]
Avatar of Lylirra
Lylirra
Patch 1.0.7 Preview Now Up!(553)January-14-2013 6:06 PM PST (9 years ago) Go to Blizzard forum post
Then why a 50% drop rate from bosses and only after 5 NV stacks? And listing bosses that drop them? If you only need them once, that is completely irrelevant and the drops would annoy everyone after the first week. With that drop rate. Especially since you can just buy them.

Something is odd, I have a feeling you need the recipe each time you want to craft. Otherwise the drop rates and the requirements and the exclusion of end bosses don't make any sense


The new crafting recipes are not consumed on use, no.

We wanted them to be on bosses so players have a more "targeted" location to farm for the recipes, similar to the way that the Infernal Machine recipe worked (but obviously not exactly the same). We also chose the bosses we did specifically, as they are generally less farmed than others.

As for why a 50% drop rate? It's a problem of competing goals:

1. Add something to the game to act as gold sink
2. Add something to the game that's thematically interesting

In order to achieve 1, whatever we add needs to widely available. In order to achieve 2, we can't just distribute those additions solely through vendors.

We'd also rather have a situation where the recipes are selling for vendor cost on the Auction House rather than one where only a few people have access to them (and their respective items). We'll see how things go on the PTR. We also wouldn't be opposed to reducing the drop rates over time if that's what's best for the health of the game.
Feedback for Diablo Somepage